Home page Site map E-mail us Azeri version English version
Russia crowned champion of the Intercontinental Cup They beat Brazil to claim the title after a spectacular final

The reigning world champions claimed the title of the Samsung Beach Soccer Intercontinental Cup Dubai 2011 after beating Brazil in a great night of Beach Soccer.
After the final whistle of yesterday’s second semi-final, Beach Soccer fans could only wonder what the outcome of the final between the world’s two strongest squads would be. One thing was certain; it was definitely a promising encounter, and the repeat of this year’s FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup final was far from disappointing. Although the first period was goalless until its last seconds, both teams produced some great chances taking risks in order to take the lead. However the stalemate was only broken with five seconds remaining in the first period through Anderson’s strike giving Brazil the advantage in the match.
The second period maintained the high quality of both teams as well as the tight competition that exists between them with Russia relying on their tactical excellence and Brazil making use of their unmistakable magic. Shishin equalized with 4 minutes remaining in the second half while the South Americans took the lead once again in the last seconds of the same period thanks to a precise Fernando Ddi shot.
Captain Leonov, three minutes later, gave Russia the lead while Shishin increased the gap by scoring his team’s fourth with 6 minutes left in regular time. Brazil’s pride did not permit for the match to end this way though and scored two goals in one minute to lead the match into an extra time that was the only possible reward for both teams’ efforts tonight. The first two minutes were a constant stream of attacks from one side to the other but it was Shishin once again, who, with a sublime finish, gave Russia yet another title this year becoming champions of the first ever Beach Soccer Intercontinental Cup.
Final Standings
1st Place: Russia
2nd Place: Brazil
3rd Place: Switzerland
Individual Awards
MVP: Stankovic (SUI)
Top Scorer: Stankovic (SUI)
Best Goalkeeper: Mão (BRA)